To the Man Who Broke My Heart and Left Me with the Shattered Pieces

You’re one of the greatest things that has happened to me. Meeting you was something I didn’t expect and anticipate, I didn’t even think that you’d be the first person to break my heart the moment I first met you. We were just friends then, simply friends. I didn’t know that of all the boys I’ve met, that of all the boys that could’ve been my lover, you were the one who was going to steal my heart, break it and leave me with the broken pieces.

I loved you, I really did. I saw my future with you. I imagined wonderful moments with you, and some of those moments happened in the 3 years that we were together, but some didn’t. You told me that you would spend forever with me, that you would never leave me no matter what. I believed you, I really did. I lost a friend, didn’t give so much time to my family and friends, and I even sacrificed my dream just to spend more time with you, just to be with you. You did the same, you had sacrifices of yours too. But what happened? Where are we now? Why are we broken? My heart which was once whole and scar less, has now been shattered and broken. Why did you do that? Where did our promises go?

“Can we go back to the days our love was strong? Can you tell me how a perfect love goes wrong? Can somebody tell me how to get things back the way they used to be?” – On Bended Knee, Boyz II Men

I really want to go back to the days when our love was strong, when no one could ever separate us, and when we were so in love together. Those days might not be the perfect days but those were the days that made me so happy, whenever I look back and remember what I felt in every moment I spent with you, it makes me wonder why we had to leave those kind of moments in the past. It was so wonderful, it seemed so real, but then when you broke my heart, you woke me up and made me realize that all those moments were just pieces of a once beautiful dream.

I hope one day I’ll realize why you’re doing all of these things to me. I hope one day, you’ll realize how broken you left me. I’m never going to be the same person as I was before, but here’s the thing, I will be better. I will pick up these shattered pieces of my heart you left me with, and I will do my best to make it whole again. I will be whole, and delightful once again. I will stand up, I will be better, and I will be the person I am meant to be. I’m never giving up on my dreams again, but I hope someday you’ll realize how big of a sacrifice I did for you. You changed my life for forever, because I can’t go back in time and fulfill the dreams I gave up for you. I’m moving forward, with or without you. To the man who broke my heart and left me with the shattered pieces, I’m moving forward, and I’m saying goodbye.

Leave a Reply

